New Lands Commission Now In Place

From Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources Land Administration Project (LAP)

As part of the on-going legal and policy reform process of the public land sector under the Land Administration Project (LAP) of the Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources, a new Lands Commission, which is a merger of some of the major land sector agencies, is now in place. 

This follows the passage of the Lands Commission Act (Act 767, 2008) by Parliament at its sitting on November 29th 2008, which subsequently received Presidential Assent on December 4th 2008, and was gazetted on December 12, 2008. 

The land sector agencies that operated either as departments in the Civil Service or as semi-autonomous agencies and have been merged into the “new” Lands Commission were Survey Department, Lands Commission, Land Valuation Board and the Land Title Registry. The other major land sector agencies namely Office of the Administrator of Stool Lands (OASL) and the Town and Country Planning Department (TCPD) will continue to exist as they are and perform their normal functions, whiles working closely with the Lands Commission. 

The Act makes this “new” Lands Commission the constitutional body and focal agency charged with the management of lands. It has four functional Divisions namely: 

Survey and Mapping Division

Land Registration Division

Land Valuation Division and

Public and Vested Lands Management Division


Make sure you don't miss interesting stories by joining our newsletter program.

Contact us

National Project Co-ordinator Land Administration Project (LAP) Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources 
P. O. Box MB 212 
Accra, Ghana

  • Tel: 233 – 0303 – 969687

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.